Even Tallahassee’s champions of free enterprise are giving up on Florida’s insurance companies.
Last year, the Florida Legislature passed and Gov. Rick Scott signed a bill designed to lower the cost of car insurance. House Bill 119 dramatically changed the no-fault system that has been in place for 40 years. The focus was Personal Injury Protection (PIP,) the mandatory $10,000 coverage for expenses in minor accidents.
Subscribers get total access to this story, and all our in-depth news, digital editions and exclusive content. Subscribe today, or try a 24-hour or 7-day digital pass.
All Day Access — 24-hour digital pass99¢ for 24 hours
All Week Access – 7-day digital pass$3.99 for 7 days
All Access, All the Time – Print & DigitalView Offers
Post Print Subscriber — I need to register my account for digital access.Access Digital
Registered Post Subscriber — Sign me in.Sign In